GX - 1st Gen (2003-2009) Discussion topics related to the 2003 -2009 GX470 models

2007 GX470 Service/Repair Guidance

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-24, 06:14 PM
Gertrude2007
1st Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2007 GX470 Service/Repair Guidance

Hi everyone!

I purchased my 2007 GX470 back in December with ~216,000mi for $8,250.

The old girl is about to hit 220k, so I took her in for her 5,000mi service (I guess its also due for its 30,000mi service).

I went to a reputable (from what I can tell) shop here in South Florida. However, I am an admitted novice when it comes to cars. So, I am turning to you guys for a bit of support.
My main goal here is to toss their report out here on the internet (you may see it in other forums in which I frequent) with the following in mind:
  • to see what is absolutely mission critical
  • guidance on what i should expect to pay, especially if anyone can chime in on how many hours shops generally bill for the different service items
  • what kind of shop rate I should expect from a good shop (I’m on the eastern coast of South Florida for reference)
  • if there are other options or ways of addressing these issues brought up by the shop (for example: springs instead of airbags; just doing a lift instead of some of the other repairs, ordering my own parts, remanufactured parts etc).
As I know it will be mentioned, I’m aware many people here are very adept and comfortable doing their own work. I very much am not, haha. So I’m going to leave all of this to the pros (unless it’s comically easy and you live in SoFlo and want to walk me through it - haha).

In my mind, the most critical items are (* below):
  • Brakes - estimated cost - $770.03
  • Wheel Bearing - $931.45
  • Rear Suspension/Air Bags - $1,703
I will post all the info/pics they gave me in hopes of facilitating discussion and learning as much as I can. Hopefully, it benefits others as well!
Thanks in advance!