GX - 1st Gen (2003-2009) Discussion topics related to the 2003 -2009 GX470 models

Does being towed damage the GX?

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-05, 09:51 PM
et415
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Does being towed damage the GX?

Last weekend, I discovered the hard way that cars parked at metered spots on the Sunset Strip in West Hollywood get towed after midnight (I have no idea what the public policy behind this is--other than to generate revenue from visitors). As I waited in the long line at the towing yard to get my GX (after paying a $159 towing fee plus the parking ticket), I noticed that cars were being brought in towed on their front axle.

I know the GX's owners manual recommends against towing (suggesting flatbedding). I don't seem to notice any harm done. Does towing really hurt the GX?
Old 03-08-05, 10:23 AM
177mph
Pole Position

I'm not a lexus mechanic - but I'd say yes.
Old 03-08-05, 12:08 PM
looknow12
Lexus Test Driver

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Thumbs down

Originally Posted by et415
Last weekend, I discovered the hard way that cars parked at metered spots on the Sunset Strip in West Hollywood get towed after midnight (I have no idea what the public policy behind this is--other than to generate revenue from visitors). As I waited in the long line at the towing yard to get my GX (after paying a $159 towing fee plus the parking ticket), I noticed that cars were being brought in towed on their front axle.

I know the GX's owners manual recommends against towing (suggesting flatbedding). I don't seem to notice any harm done. Does towing really hurt the GX?
It has to do damage (maybe not noticeable at this time, but definitely). Most towing companies won't tow a SUV with AWD instead they'll flat bed it. No matter how you slice it, the entire drive train must spin against its will when towed with one axle on the ground.
Old 03-08-05, 12:18 PM
SacKen
Driver