GX - 1st Gen (2003-2009) Discussion topics related to the 2003 -2009 GX470 models

New Owner Says Hi - long story

Search this Thread

Old 10-30-05, 09:52 PM
pelucidor
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Owner Says Hi - long story

I've been hanging around CL for a few months as I am planning to get a GS or IS350 next year to replace my Infiniti G35. For the last few months my wife has been making unhappy sounds about our '02 Acura MDX (lease expires soon, but instead of looking at SUVs for her I have been obsessing over sport sedans for myself for late 2006), so we test drove RXs, GXs, MLs etc a few months back. Our needs were simple - safety, luxury, reliability, 0-60 in 8 secs or less (me), and lots of space behind the 2nd row seats for our two 90lb dogs. We liked the GX (except the barn door) but I wanted to check out the Sport package (I read a lot about KDSS here) which is very rare in the North East.

At the recent Taste of Lexus driving event I finaly got to try a GX with Sport on an autocross track - this is what I wrote back in September on the IS350 forum:
GX470 with Sport (includes KDSS) - I have driven non-KDSS GX470s on the road and I found the KDSS here to be amazing. I hammered this huge bus like you wouldn't believe - threw it very hard into every corner. Much less roll and dive than I expected and the smooth torquey V8 was a perfect match for the transmission - always seemed to be in the right gear and never any real drama - also quiet at all times. Also accelerates fast enough for something of this size and weight. Brilliant vehicle in extremis and definitely on the list to replace my wife's Acura MDX in the next 4 months. There was some other stuff I wrote about the IS350 and BMW 330i etc that is not germaine to this post, but I digress...