GX - 1st Gen (2003-2009) Discussion topics related to the 2003 -2009 GX470 models

(2) MAJOR OR MINOR Concerns?

Search this Thread

Old 09-15-06, 12:46 PM
BLKGX470
Driver

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default (2) MAJOR OR MINOR Concerns?

First of all, I'm a newbie and have only owned my very first Lexus for only 12 days now. I bought it used from a car dealer 2003 GX470 AWD with only 26K miles on it. And that is why I went for it because it has low mileage and would never even think of buying used unless its an asian car.

When I test drove it, of course I wouldn't drive it wrecklessly or harshly while the sales person is sitting next to me. Everything was fine, smoothest ride ever. But for a few days now, I noticed that whenever driving in LA traffic and if I had no choice but to step on my brakes hard and abruptly, I can feel metal grinding. I've owned american suvs before and its the same as when brakes are going out. Now, my question is, has anyone experienced this when your brakes are going out? Because when I drive leisurely and don't have to brake hard, it's smooth and you won't feel a thing. It feels like brand new. ONLY when I have to hit the brakes hard is when it grinds. Is that also covered on the warranty?

My next concern is when I do brake hard on a stop light. Before the light turns green I ease off my foot off the brake and suddenly I feel a strong TUG. Now, I've never owned a 4WD before, is that normal? Do you feel that in a brand new GX470 or is the tranny giving way? When I drive it, it is smooth as ever, no problems slipping or anything.

Any advice would be helpful. Thanks in advance!

Old 09-15-06, 01:04 PM
loflin
Pole Position

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

How old were your previous cars, or more importantly did any of your previous cars have ABS (anti-lock brakes).

I believe what you are experiencing when you say you "feel grinding" on a hard brake, is the ABS kicking in.