GX - 1st Gen (2003-2009) Discussion topics related to the 2003 -2009 GX470 models

New with few concerns!

Search this Thread

Old 08-09-09, 04:56 PM
adriandj
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New with few concerns!

Hello everyone!

This is my first time in this forum and first time posting. The reason I joined this forum because I have few concerns about our Lexus GX 470. On August 22, 2009 I will be taking my mom's Lexus on a road trip for work traveling from Northern California to Salt Lake City, Utah back & forth.

1. I was wondering if I need to buy a separate luggage rack for the roof? or is it safe to just tie down our luggages with the roof rack that the SUV came with?

2. Its about 2,000 miles drive back n forth, what do I need to get checked just to make sure everything is working fine.

3. The lexus has a height adjustment correct? for a long drive, do i go higher or lower for comfortability.

4. For me to be able to use the SUV and carry fellow business partners we need to get it have a routine check to make sure the car is safe stuff like brakes, thread life?, hoses, liquids ? stuff like that? will the dealership offer that kind of service?

5. At around 70+ the steering wheel kinda shakes, not normal kinda shake but its rather strong. Kinda feels like when you brake and when the ABS kicks it. That kind of shaking like its this strong feedback. What is that? & how do we get that fixed?

Any advice for this long drive? It's my first one so I am really excited! Thanks!
Old 08-10-09, 12:39 AM
stiles_s
Intermediate

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

A few questions:
- what year is the gx, and how many miles does it have?
- what was the most recent service?
- how many people are you carrying? do you really need to put stuff on the roof? I'd recommend avoiding it if possible

re: #3: the height adjustment is only functional at low speeds (<10mph, IIRC), so this is moot