GX - 1st Gen (2003-2009) Discussion topics related to the 2003 -2009 GX470 models

0 mile range

Search this Thread

Old 11-01-18, 04:57 AM
dasgroup
Pit Crew

Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
Default 0 mile range

Kid took GX out last weekend, Noticed low fuel light on, put $5 of gas in, So I go into it and check the range and it's at 0. It's still new to us so I'm still learning how much range there is after 0 miles. My ES had the light come on at about 3 gallons left, not sure on GX. No idea on how long it's been at 0 range or if it reset at all after he put in $5 of gas. He travels for business during the week so I can't even make him go and get gas, So what's the remaining gas when the light goes on and how far have you driven at 0 range?
Old 11-01-18, 07:24 AM
IanB2
Pole Position

Received 524 Likes on 436 Posts

If it was that low when he put $5 in, it may not have even moved the float in the tank, confusing the computer that calculates the range. Fill the tank and see if it corrects.
Old 11-01-18, 09:10 AM
TWINHAULER
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Low gas warning light and range an MPG can fluctuate on these, so I dont trust it. Sometimes light will come on with 1/4 tank. Sometimes not til almost empty.
Old 11-01-18, 12:52 PM
dasgroup
Pit Crew

Originally Posted by TWINHAULER
Low gas warning light and range an MPG can fluctuate on these, so I dont trust it. Sometimes light will come on with 1/4 tank. Sometimes not til almost empty.
That's what I'm afraid of, and since it's new to us I don't trust them either. Will have to wait until somebody can follow to gas station just in case. Closest one has a big hill to overtake and if stuck at the light with low enough reserve in tank, trouble. Fill up will probably show 3 gallons left in tank.
Old 11-01-18, 03:10 PM
ALAN553
Racer

Received 170 Likes on 146 Posts

I’ve run it down to “0”0. Two gallons were left...21 gallon fill
Old 11-01-18, 03:37 PM
vwynn
Lexus Fanatic