GX - 1st Gen (2003-2009) Discussion topics related to the 2003 -2009 GX470 models

LC2i and ML system/ adding an amplified sub.

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-19, 04:27 PM
MrJason
Lead Lap

Received 222 Likes on 176 Posts
Default LC2i and ML system/ adding an amplified sub.

So I just can’t take it anymore... I need some bass!!! The ML system sounds wonderful but it’s missing some “boom boom”... lol

anyway... I’m adding a 12” skar sub in a sealed box with a Rockford amp. Since our systems are complex, adding a sub takes more than a passive LOC... after much contemplation... I’ve decided to use the LC2i active LOC with AccuBASS. This LOC allows for 400 watt per channel input, won’t affect your stock amp because of the unbelievable amount of internal impedance, and prevents bass roll off at high volumes.... and can push up to 9.5v preamp output(not that I’ll use that much).

Im good with automotive electrical systems... I actually specialize in it for a living.
I just have one question that hopefully someone here can answer.

Whats a better point to to use as the inputs... tapping into the factory subwoofer wires, the back doors speakers, or the barn dorm speakers?

Old 05-16-19, 04:47 PM
maxx430
Lead Lap

Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts

I had a shop installed a cheapO LOC into the amp. it works fine but i feel like my sub is under powered.
Trailing question- Would a LC2i make a huge difference?
Old 05-16-19, 05:06 PM
MrJason
Lead Lap

Originally Posted by maxx430
I had a shop installed a cheapO LOC into the amp. it works fine but i feel like my sub is under powered.
Trailing question- Would a LC2i make a huge difference?

Yes.... a passive LOC will fluctuate voltage to the amp inputs. It also allows a lot of system noise(dirty output). You are lucky to get .5v from a cheap LOC.

The LC2i actually requires constant power and ground to work. The device takes the dirty signal, cleans it up, and stabilizes the output voltage from 2v-9.5v depending on how you tune it.