GX - 1st Gen (2003-2009) Discussion topics related to the 2003 -2009 GX470 models

2004 GX - Need help diagnosing stiff steering

Search this Thread

Old 06-14-20, 08:11 AM
Puddy
10th Gear

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default 2004 GX - Need help diagnosing stiff steering

Hi all:

I have a 2004 GX470 with 111k miles which I bought last year at 109k miles. I am the second owner, the truck has a full dealer service history up to and including the 100k service and I don't think the previous owner ever left the pavement. With that background I could use some help diagnosing a steering issue. Basically, my steering feels stiff and requires more effort than it should throughout the entire range. I've been tinkering with cars for a while but I'm relatively new to Toyota/Lexus so I could use some advice from people who are familiar with the 120 platform before I start throwing parts at the problem. Some additional observations and things I've done so far:
  • Basic symptoms: The steering is stiffer than it should be, but obviously still receiving some power assist. The truck is driveable, but very slow parking maneuvers are a bit of workout. The stiffness is very linear in that there's no "notchiness" where steering effort increases and then goes back to normal. When sitting still, steering effort is the same at idle and if I rev the engine to ~2000rpm. At road speeds, the steering still feels a bit stiff, but it's hard to say. No wandering and no issues making slight corrections or changing lanes.
  • Fluid: It was full, but very dark and smelled slightly burnt. If I had to guess, I'd say it was very dirty/slightly burnt ATF (vs. PS fluid) but I'm not positive. I drained and refilled with ATF and bled the system with no effect. I will say the new fluid is already looking dirty, but I have no idea if the system was ever serviced before.