GX - 1st Gen (2003-2009) Discussion topics related to the 2003 -2009 GX470 models

Bilstein 5100 install

Search this Thread

Old 09-25-21 | 08:05 PM
Howay
Driver School Candidate

Default Bilstein 5100 install

2021 TRD PRO wheels wrapped in Wildpeak AT3W. Will be removing the running boards and installing Bilstein 5100s front and rear tomorrow. Will also be doing the airbag trick with the washers for now. Anything I need to be aware of or is it all pretty straight forward? What did you guys do with the front comfort adjust sensors? I have never done any of this before but my buddy who’s helping me has all the tools and lots of experience working on his 5th gen 4Runner. He’s never worked on a GX before. So any tips would be appreciated!

Old 09-26-21 | 04:26 AM
asticot
Pit Crew

The job is really straightforward, I did this with my front struts with 4600s a couple of months ago. I chose to reuse my springs and that was the biggest problem because no local auto parts store had the spring compressor tool so I paid a auto shop to do it for me.

ive got a northern vehicle so rusty fasteners we’re a problem. If you have rust, soak everything in Liquid Wrench. I wanted to save the mechanisms that control dampening if I ever wanted to go back to OEM, but the inaccessibility of the fasteners at the top of the strut mount and rust made me have to destroy them and cut them off. Not an issue since with the Bilsteins you’ll have no damper control anyways
The following 2 users liked this post by asticot:
Howay (09-26-21), IanB2 (09-26-21)
Old 09-26-21 | 07:30 AM
Howay
Driver School Candidate

Originally Posted by asticot
The job is really straightforward, I did this with my front struts with 4600s a couple of months ago. I chose to reuse my springs and that was the biggest problem because no local auto parts store had the spring compressor tool so I paid a auto shop to do it for me.