GX - 2nd Gen (2010-2023) Discussion topics related to the 2010 + GX460 models

New Potential GX Owner

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-24, 03:05 PM
Iggy913
1st Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Potential GX Owner

Greetings all from Northeast North Carolina. I'm looking to purchase a GX in the coming months, not new, most likely something in the late 2018-2020 timeframe. I have some basic questions and I apologize is they are found in one of the stickies above. I am a competent mechanic so I'm not too worried about what exactly to look for in a pre-purchase inspection, however I have some wants and I'm curious what I might be looking for in terms of an exact model.

I really enjoy a quality sound system, I don't need license plate rattling bass, but I do like quality speakers. With that in mind I'd like to find a GX with the upgraded Mark Levinson system, does this limit me to the Luxury models only?

I also like the capability offered by the MTS and CC systems, but it looks like they can be added after the fact for not a lot of money, so I don't need to find something with it from the factory, I believe most of the Luxury models have these options as well?

Lastly I would like to lift it, ever so slightly to clear a 32" tire, with that in mind is it worth looking for something with the air/adjustable suspension if I'm just going to replace it for a nice set of aftermarket shocks and springs.

It would seem like to get the upgraded sound system and CC and MTS I would need a Luxury model, with the Offroad Package. However the Luxury model also comes with the adjustable air suspension that I would be replacing when I go at the suspension system to fit larger tires, so I'd be paying for an option that I'm just going to remove. Does that sound about correct?

Last edited by Iggy913; 02-20-24 at 03:31 PM. Reason: Added Info
Old 02-20-24, 06:25 PM
mike202
Pit Crew

Received 101 Likes on 70 Posts

MTS/CC can be added, see here: https://lexusgxor.com/mods:body