GX - 2nd Gen (2010-2023) Discussion topics related to the 2010 + GX460 models

Rear Door Arm and rear suspension questions

Search this Thread

Old 06-02-17, 08:07 PM
Quicksilve
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rear Door Arm and rear suspension questions

Ok so I have had my GX for one week now and have had ample time to go over it with a fine tooth comb. I have found nothing except for two issues. I was hoping to ask the group about these as I am new to the GX.
1) I noticed that the rear door arm is pretty rusty and wonder if this is just a flaw with the arm or if it is something that needs addressing? I am including a picture of the rust on the arm. The arm functions perfectly right now so I am not really thinking of changing it out but was wondering if someone else had this issue and if so what they did about it.
2) I have a 2012 Premium model with the adaptive suspension. I noticed that every time I go over a speed bump if feels like the back of the car bottoms out on the suspension. Anyone else have this issue? What I mean is that I feel like there is a bit too much travel when going over a speed bump. Other times, bumpy roads, driveways etc...I do not feel this.
Thanks in advance for your advice.
Attached Thumbnails Rear Door Arm and rear suspension questions-img_20170601_211056.jpg  
Old 06-03-17, 06:18 AM
Oldmanb777
Pole Position

Received 22 Likes on 21 Posts

Mine feels like there is not enough suspension travel, as it bottoms out real easy.
Old 06-03-17, 07:45 AM
User21c
Pit Crew

Received 22 Likes on 17 Posts

2015 Luxury - Doesn't feel like it bottoms out, maybe due to air suspension?
And no rust (yet?) on my rear door arm. .. I'd hit that with some rust remover and not worry about it.
Old 06-03-17, 08:44 AM
Acrad
Super Moderator

Received 3,637 Likes on 2,383 Posts

No rust on my mine. If it still holds door fine I would just clean it up the best you can.