GX - 2nd Gen (2010-2023) Discussion topics related to the 2010 + GX460 models

Subwoofer?

Search this Thread

Old 05-28-17, 08:27 PM
MrJamison
Pit Crew

Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts
Lightbulb 2011 GX460 Subwoofer add-on Help..

Hey all, I'm new to the GX460 platform and was looking to add a 10" or 12" subwoofer to the factory system. I've done some searching and most of the links are dead now. Has anyone done this and what have you done? Looking for pics/ideas and also the wiring diagram to add the line out converter.
Old 01-12-18, 09:24 AM
MrJamison
Pit Crew

Ok, I was able to get line out wires from the factory amp to my aftermarket amp and I get sound with no problems. However, I tapped and used the rear speakers for the sounds and think I may should have used the front instead. It seems as if the bass is really filtered out of the rear speakers which is causing the same effect on the subwoofer bc I've got the amp gain all the way up and getting no real bass. Any thoughts?
Old 01-12-18, 04:47 PM
tecman
Lead Lap

Received 861 Likes on 596 Posts

Yeah, the rear speakers are weak. Front speakers or maybe the center dash speaker mentioned here.

https://www.clublexus.com/forums/gx-...r-upgrade.html
Old 01-16-18, 07:58 AM
MrJamison
Pit Crew

Originally Posted by MrJamison
Ok, I was able to get line out wires from the factory amp to my aftermarket amp and I get sound with no problems. However, I tapped and used the rear speakers for the sounds and think I may should have used the front instead. It seems as if the bass is really filtered out of the rear speakers which is causing the same effect on the subwoofer bc I've got the amp gain all the way up and getting no real bass. Any thoughts?
Got the line out converter moved to the front left speaker for output and it made a huge difference! I was reading the pinout diagram and it shows that the amp has a subwoofer option but the pins aren't in the harness. Wonder if I added the two pins, if that would work for my sub amp?