GX - 3rd Gen (2024-present) Discussion topics related to the 2024+ GX550 models

2024 GX height - Wheel and tire suggestions?

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-23, 10:18 AM
Jtycho
Driver School Candidate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 2024 GX height - Wheel and tire suggestions?

I’ve been considering a GX since 2022 but for various reasons I never took the plunge. I’m fond of the new GX but I’ll have an issue: work garage height maxes out at 75”. GX luxury comes in at 75.39”. So, I need to lose a half inch.

Can anyone suggest a wheel/tire combination that you think will work well? I don’t particularly care for large wheels anyway, so I don’t mind replacing the Luxury 22” wheels.

That said, I’m a bit nervous about undersizing the tires, it’s not a particularly good look on a truck. Let me know what you think!

thanks.
Old 06-11-23, 12:16 PM
ASE
Pole Position

Received 1,028 Likes on 686 Posts

The wheel size (rim) is not necessarily the issue ... as one moves from 18" to 19" to 20" to 22" wheels, the aspect ratio of the tire (tire width to sidewall height) is typically reduced (respectively) to maintain a close to identical overall diameter of the tire between wheel sizes ... which is what determines the ride height of the vehicle. But since you have 22" wheels ... there is no reasonable opportunity to reduce the tire aspect ratio any further. So what tire size are you currently running ?

The Lexus spec has the 22 GX460 overall height at 74.2" ... which is typically running an as-delivered 265/60-18 tire that has a 30.5" overall diameter.

Use tire calculator to compare sizes ... https://tiresize.com/calculator/

To lose 0.5" in current ride height means you need to lose 1.0" in tire diameter

Last edited by ASE; 06-11-23 at 12:57 PM.
The following 2 users liked this post by ASE:
John00 (06-21-23), Jtycho (06-11-23)
Old 06-11-23, 01:40 PM
Jtycho
Driver School Candidate

Originally Posted by ASE;[url=tel:11522252