HS 250h Model (2010-2012)

My Actual Mileage is Plummeting!

Search this Thread

Old 07-15-10, 07:36 PM
ToddRiley
Driver School Candidate

Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts
Default My Actual Mileage is Plummeting!

So the other mileage thread appears to be locked....um why?

Summer time in the city of Los Angeles and I am down to an average of 25 MPG - yes that's correct there is a 2 in front of the 5 - not a typo.

I am not an engineer - nor do I play one on TV, but what I see going on with the car is that the Gas engine is now almost always producing electricity for the batteries....

Why? Probably to cool the interior cabin using the AC....which I guess is electric.....

I love my car - 25 mpg - well not great - but I love my car.
Old 07-16-10, 09:12 AM
mikemareen
Lexus Test Driver

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

u should be getting 34 lowest and 35 max, shouldn't be such a drastic drop when on city driving.

Originally Posted by ToddRiley

Summer time in the city of Los Angeles and I am down to an average of 25 MPG - yes that's correct there is a 2 in front of the 5 - not a typo.

I am not an engineer - nor do I play one on TV, but what I see going on with the car is that the Gas engine is now almost always producing electricity for the batteries....

Why? Probably to cool the interior cabin using the AC....which I guess is electric.....

Old 07-16-10, 10:57 AM
Canesguy
Lead Lap

Received 9 Likes on 6 Posts

Originally Posted by ToddRiley

I have my a/c cooling me off from temps. well over 100, yet my mpg's are 37+ on combined highway/city driving. Do you have a lead foot, as I would expect better than what you're getting?
Old 07-16-10, 12:10 PM
ToddRiley
Driver School Candidate

Default 25 mpg

Someone in my office has one with paper plares and he says he is getting 25 as well. - think it's the heat, air-conditioning having to work harder and the gas engine having to charge the batteries. It is an electric air-conditioner....
Old 07-16-10, 02:28 PM
KGenaidy
Driver