Hybrid Technology Unique topics related to the 2004 -2009 RX400H model hybrid drivetrain and other features/options found only on the RX400H. Please use the main forum for discussion about shared components with other second generation RX models.

New User Intro and Question

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-08 | 09:11 PM
Air Tahoe
Driver School Candidate

Default New User Intro and Question

Hey guys I am new to the Lexus forum, but an avid poster over at VWVortex and ClubTouareg.com.

Just picked up a 2008 RX400H. Amazing car so far. I am really impressed with all the detailed features and hope to learn more on the forum. We also have a 2004 V8 Touareg. It has been a great car as well, but we needed another winter car where we live.

Question: Have any of you guys found a good product to protect the clear headlamps. I want to prevent all the rock chips and pitting from the sand in the winter. We often drive over Donner summit in CA to our cabin and the cars get sand blasted behind the big trucks. And has anyone tried one of those clear bras on the silver color RX?

Our old Lexus a 2002 RX300 has a 174,000 miles and the headlamps and front end paint is thrashed from winter driving. The lights are actually quite a bit dimmer due to all the pits. But of course it has been a great car, with very minor mechanical issues even with all the miles.

Here is my small DIY Touareg website. I hope to come up with something like this for the Lexus users as well.
http://web.mac.com/renojoints/Touareg/Battery.html

Old 07-23-08 | 10:25 PM
LEXveryG8
Lexus Champion

Originally Posted by Air Tahoe
Hey guys I am new to the Lexus forum, but an avid poster over at VWVortex and ClubTouareg.com.

Just picked up a 2008 RX400H. Amazing car so far. I am really impressed with all the detailed features and hope to learn more on the forum. We also have a 2004 V8 Touareg. It has been a great car as well, but we needed another winter car where we live.