how dark can tint be in SO. CA

Search this Thread

Old 12-13-01, 07:50 AM
princess4
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default how dark can tint be in SO. CA

Hey guys,
I am new to California and just bought the Black L-tuned IS. I am originally from AZ where tint is a necessity, but I am told that out here, you can't have tint on the front windows. Do any of you guys have experience with tinting your front windows and getting tickets? Any reccommendations on how dark I can go without getting s#@! for it? My other car has limo tint all the way around and I have been pulled over for it but it has AZ plates so I haven't got a ticket yet.
Thanks,
SB
Old 12-13-01, 08:24 AM
bcc002
Pole Position

technically - i think its completely ill legal to have tint anywhere on your car in cali. but the cop (or at least through my personal experience) dont care at all. Ive been pulled over 2x with all my windows up (limo in the back, 3/4 limo in the front) and the cops dont say a thing. hell, i was talking with a cop and he said it is illegal, but he has tint on his car too! and he also said that unless your being a *****, they wont try to nab you on anything else. and welcome to cali!
Old 12-13-01, 08:28 AM
benzy230
Driver

man....i want to move there!
Old 12-13-01, 01:34 PM
GS4Will
Lexus Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

i was told by one of my bud/LT. cop that BY LAW, a car is not allowed any tint on the front sides. by whether a driver will get tickets for that depends on the following factors:

type of car, how loud your stereo, exhaust, driving speed/style...your luck of day....just try to be a goody goody, and your chance of getting hassled goes down big time...
Old 12-13-01, 01:55 PM
princess4
Rookie

That's what I figured, I think it is also easier for girls to get out of the ticket then guys, although, I did have this butch CHP pull me over a couple of months ago for having no front license plate and tint on my windows. I think she just wanted a peice of A@@