IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

Park Assist

Search this Thread

Old 12-01-05, 07:14 PM
neko82
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Park Assist

Hi! It's my first time posting here, so hello everyone!

I just got my IS350 last week and I'm loving it. One regret though is not getting the park assist, since I'm a lousy parker and the car feels kinda high.

So my question is, can I still install the park assist now after I have the car?

Thanks for your help!
Old 12-01-05, 07:21 PM
kensteele
Lexus Champion

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Not sure at all, but I don't believe so. It appears to be well integrated so if you're talking about yourself or at the dealership....

Park Assist is only cool, that's about it. I can't see it being used to actually park in a tough spot in the real world. After decades or parking normally, I can't trust it fully...not yet. And don't think I will ever.

It is for "assisting" but the front sensors are not a good as the back because the center sensor is missing and for whatever reason, things in the camera appear to be farther away than they really are...to my eyes. I still park as usual but what does come in handy is the audible warnings that let you know you are coming close to something. Now that to me is worth the $$$$.
Old 12-01-05, 08:02 PM
JSK97VMI
Rookie

I can't see Park Assist helping that much as well. Until the new car feel wears off, I doubt I'll be parking too close to anyone. I'd be more concerned with getting the rim too close to the curb. There's not a worse sound than hearing a rim scrape on the concrete.
Old 12-01-05, 08:50 PM
Spy
Driver School Candidate

My dealer told me they weren't going to order any more cars with park assist. Ithink its pricey at $500 for what it does, but I rarely have to parallel park.
Old 12-01-05, 09:01 PM
kensteele
Lexus Champion

Received 1 Like on 1 Post