IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

Creaky Steering Wheel

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-06 | 08:50 PM
BankerJ
Driver School Candidate

Default Creaky Steering Wheel

Hello fellow IS entusiasts. This is my first time posting, so please be kind. I have had my IS250 AWD since early December. Just rolled 1200 miles. I noticed tonight that when I am at a complete stop, with my foot on the brake that my steering wheel will make a creaking noise when the wheel is turned slightly in either direction. Any one else experience this problem? It is a very faint noise but sounds like something is rubbing when the wheel is turned. Normally I have the radio on and have not noticed it before today. This happened on my 01 IS and had to have a grommet replaced. Seems a little too early for a brand new car, but those are the breaks. Recall and steering issue within the first 2 months. Hope this is not a trend.
Old 01-31-06 | 11:11 PM
eg6turbo
Rookie

might be the power steering working...sometimes you hear this when also doing a u-turn with full steering locked in one direction
Old 01-31-06 | 11:24 PM
AgBlue
Pole Position

I thought i noticed a weird creaky feeling with my steering wheel too right after I got it from the dealership when they did my personalized settings. But then again, it could all just be in my head after driving that crappy ES loaner car they gave me. I thought nothing of it, and the noise goes away when I'm moving. I'm thikning maybe it was the wheels grinding on the gravel or something.

Oh and I really haven't noticed it since. I think all new IS owners are paranoid of things going wrong, lol. (myself included)
Old 02-01-06 | 06:30 AM
Tony1
Lead Lap

spray the whole car down with WD40.. lol
Old 02-01-06 | 06:52 AM
Rockville
Lexus Test Driver

Default The power steering on the IS is electric...