IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

The Best Luxury Sedan For $40,000

Search this Thread

Old 05-05-06, 06:22 PM
FITYSCENTS
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default The Best Luxury Sedan For $40,000

Let me preface my post by unequivocally stating the mere facts. I am not an automobile professional. I have no loyalty to any automobile manufacturer. I enjoy a exhilirating driving experience.

Three years ago (2003), I was in the market for a sedan that had a certain level of sport and luxury. I narrowed my search to four cars. 1.) BMW 330I 2.) Audi A4 1.8T 3.) Lexus Is 300 4.) Infinity G 35 . Quickly this search was down to two as the Lexus IS 300 had absolutely nothing to offer in the form a luxury offering and the Infinity was much of the same although not to Lexus extreme. The "feel" of the steering wheel and all other components of the Inifity made it quite apparent that the build quality of this car was not up to par. So it was down to two cars, The BMW 330I and the Audi A4 1.8T. The 330I was much faster than the A4, but to me it lacked the handling prowlness of the A4. Maybe it's me, but the 330I was not impressive at all. I felt like it was a regular family sedan. I have nothing against BMW, but sometimes I wonder if sometimes their maybe a little bit of brainwashing or speaking something to existent, with the over hyped driving (handling) experience. For me it came down to the getting the best car for ME. The A4 exemplified te best handling (feedback), the best interior. The build quality on this car was impeccable.