IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

Direct Ipod Integration from Toyota/Lexus?

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-06, 12:59 AM
gyahhh
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Direct Ipod Integration from Toyota/Lexus?

Hello I am a newb to Lexus, to forums, to car mods... etc

I just got my IS last week and have been reading a lot of these threads and have found many of my questions to be answered.

I was wondering if Toyota/Lexus was planning to release a factory option for ipod integration similar to what is available on their scions? (Let's you search artists, albums, songs, through factory radio and charges ipod)

I read about the vais device but I'm not much of a playlist guy; and to my understanding you can only search the vais device using playlists...

Does anyone have any info on this subject?

Ps. if anyone has any recommendations for any add ons or accessories that are a must have with this car please let me know!

Thanks in advance!
Old 07-28-06, 07:16 AM
wldweasel0
Driver School Candidate

With all the aftermarket stuff, it would seem smart for Toyota/Lexus to cash in on that market and come up with a stock iPod integration. I guess it all really depends on how they feel it will sell in certain types of cars. Most people concerned with iPod integration are younger, in the 20-somethings, and I would say most (don't get me wrong, I am not trying to over generalize here) 20-somethings probably buy Scions, Civics, Jettas, Sentras and so on, and those cars are starting to get iPod integration now too. Why they just don't make it standard on all cars is up to their marketing research I suppose.
Old 07-28-06, 08:59 AM
4TehNguyen
Lexus Fanatic

Received 51 Likes on 46 Posts

if it was standard how would non ipod users use their mp3 player. IMO it should be an option or include both AUX and ipod integration connections
Old 07-28-06, 11:14 AM
wldweasel0
Driver School Candidate

Good point. I'd roll with that.