IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

Out with the new, in with the newer

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-07, 10:18 AM
ff_
Lexus Champion

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Out with the new, in with the newer

After an entire week's worth of haggling with a local Honda dealer, I worked out a deal on a new Civic Si sedan. Traded in the IS 250 for a very fair price, add in the tax savings, and effectively it ended up being about $28,200 for the IS. That's about $2000 less than I paid for the thing.

Simply put, the Civic Si is >> fun <<. It's the kind of fun that I've been missing out on for the past 9 months in the IS. It's nimble, handles very tight, and the 2.0 engine is very much like the S2000's, in that it's raw, high strung, and loves to rev. It's definitely a blast to drive again.

The Si's seats are simply awesome. Extremely well bolstered, firm, and forces you to sit with perfect posture. I love it. And the wife does too.

Also, I can't get over all the interior space in this car, particularily the rear seat legroom. It completely embarasses the more bulky IS in this respect. I'm actually able to safely fit all 3 child seats in the back (one booster, 2 backless-boosters), something that you could not do in the IS.

Now, I realize that I claimed I would never buy another FWD car. But Honda knows how to make FWD cars handle well. And the Si is definitely no exception. I took the car through a section of my favorite twisty road, and repeatedly I could get the back end to start rotating before the front began to lose traction. I'll credit the VSA with a lot of that, and that's fine. At least they did it right, and made it more neutral, rather dialing in a ton of understeer.