IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

Is 250 Awd

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-07 | 06:36 PM
jimjaix
Lead Lap

Default Is 250 Awd

Hi, I just bought my new Lexus IS 250 AWD and I scratched and it’s dented. I took it to the dealer and they said it will cost me one thousand dollar to fix that, I can see the metal. Question is, if I get touchup paints can I cover most of it without looking close? I am new to car and I never used touchup paint before. And I asked them why it costs me so much; they said because they will fix all the stuff and also paint the door otherwise the color will look night and day. Any help will be greatly appreciated
Attached Thumbnails Is 250 Awd-picture-0033.jpg  
Old 02-12-07 | 06:43 PM
Gernby
Lexus Champion

Welcome to the forum (and the car)!

I would strongly suggest trying a sprayless scratch repair expert before paying big bucks to have it fixed "right". They use black magic techniques like the paintless dent repair guys to remove the scratches. If the scratches are deep enough, they will use incellin needles filled with color matched paint to fill in the scratches, then buff it, fill it, buff it, fill it ... then rub paint thinner on it ... until it is smooth. If you find a good person, it will be very hard to see.
Old 02-12-07 | 06:44 PM
Gernby
Lexus Champion

BTW, please use better thread titles in the future. The subject you used "IS250 AWD" really doesn't have anything to do with your topic. A great topic that would generate much more participation would be "How can I fix the scratches on my brand new car?!"
Old 02-12-07 | 06:50 PM
jimjaix
Lead Lap