IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

Totalled???

Search this Thread

Old 01-02-08, 03:03 PM
Tcapone1
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Totalled???

Well I've had my IS250 for approximately 3 1/2 Months. New Years nite, I was a Designated Driver for some friends, in which I do not drink. I was at a stop light, waiting to turn left. When BOOM I get rear ended. Spun Multiple Times, no air bags went off, me along with 2 other passengers.

I was hit at a dead stop and the guy was doing 75mph drunk driving running from the police, the guy hit me spun off and hit a cop car... The guy who hit me broke every bone in his body. Went through his windshield, and well the sight was not pleasant. The police officer also went to the ER.

So my car got towed away, today I picked up my belongings and took a few pics. No air bags were deployed. The front passenger seats looked like crap from the impact, the rear seat moved forward approximately 1 1/2-2 Ft. The engine was also smoking pretty bad, neither rear door will close..

Think they will Total it out?

http://i83.photobucket.com/albums/j2...s23/lexus8.jpg
http://i83.photobucket.com/albums/j2...3/lexus3-1.jpg
http://s83.photobucket.com/albums/j2...t=Lexus1-1.jpg
http://i83.photobucket.com/albums/j2...3/lexus2-1.jpg

Last edited by Tcapone1; 01-02-08 at 03:11 PM.
Old 01-02-08, 03:07 PM
SLegacy99
Lead Lap

Oh god, how awful.
Old 01-02-08, 03:10 PM
Evitzee
Lexus Champion

Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts

Ouch. At least the IS did its job and protected you and your passengers, and you apparently walked away with no injuries. In the olden days the fuel tank may well have ignited.

No airbag deployment because they are designed for frontal impact.

Totalled? Yeah, could be. There has got to be frame damage.

I refuse to drive anymore on New Years Eve. I either stay home, or go to hotel, party, and stay over. There are just too many losers out there.
Old 01-02-08, 03:10 PM
Joeb427
Lexus Fanatic