IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

Did the dealer NOT install XM radio?

Search this Thread

Old 05-19-08 | 06:56 AM
testmetest
Driver

Unhappy Did the dealer NOT install XM radio?

Hi all, I have a quick question.

I recently bought a new IS off the lot. It did not have XM radio which I wanted, so the dealer said he will have it installed while I wait.

I see the antenna on the roof, but when I press the "AM - SAT" button, only AM radio comes up.

Does this mean there is no XM installed? In the manual, it says to turn the tuner to channel 000, but I can't if it's only coming up as AM radio.

I'm worried and feeling pretty sad about this. Any ideas?
Old 05-19-08 | 07:25 AM
DaveGS4
Forum Administrator

Originally Posted by testmetest
I see the antenna on the roof, but when I press the "AM - SAT" button, only AM radio comes up.
How many times did you press the button? I'm not an expert in your head unit, but know in my LS you need to keep pusing the button to scroll through the various inputs.
Old 05-19-08 | 09:32 AM
testmetest
Driver

Originally Posted by DaveGS4
How many times did you press the button? I'm not an expert in your head unit, but know in my LS you need to keep pusing the button to scroll through the various inputs.
I tried pushing it several times figuring it was a scroll through type situation to no avail. I also tried holding the button for a few seconds.

I suppose I'll email the dealer later today if no one has any ideas. Is there a way to see if the radio tuner unit was installed? I see the antenna on the roof maybe if I know where to look, I can see if the tuner is there or not. (unless it's hidden away under the hood, etc).
Old 05-19-08 | 10:00 AM
gocubs08
Pole Position

nope, Not installed. Its not a quick 30 minute install, even for the dealer, maybe 1.5 hours if they do it fast, and you'll automatically hear the XM preview channel if you push AM button once.
Old 05-19-08 | 10:03 AM
bob2200
Driver