IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

oem front lip: yes or no for newbie?

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-08, 09:21 PM
jkwan18
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default oem front lip: yes or no for newbie?

I need some opinions regarding the oem front lip. I have a leased 250 Canadian x-pac. As some of you may know, Canadian x-pac do not come with the oem lip. Should I get it since this is a leased car? And second of all can I handle the installation myself, or should I get the dealer to install it to avoid voiding warranty? Note that I'm a newbie when it comes to mod, and the only mod I have now is the blue fog overlay. It comes to around 220 cdn with shipping from Sewell, and I think that's as good a deal as it gets.
Old 07-10-08, 09:31 PM
Mister T
Lexus Champion

Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts

Yes.

It's on sale and here's how easy it is to install...

https://www.clublexus.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=253544
Old 07-11-08, 12:17 AM
projectdna
Lexus Fanatic

Received 25 Likes on 23 Posts

+1 for the sewell sale on the front lip spoiler.

it comes with instructions, so if you're bold enough - and good enough w/ tools - you can do it yourself.

since your 2is is leased, i don't know if you should drill holes on the bumper. there are two ways to mount it. one is to drill holes for the mounting tabs per the supplied instructions, and the other is to break the tabs off and use double-sided tape (you'll find that set of instructions on clublexus).

use the search function, and you'll find what you're looking for.

good luck; keep us posted.

Last edited by projectdna; 07-11-08 at 07:59 AM.
Old 07-11-08, 01:13 AM
ISF_GG
Lexus Champion

Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts

Go for it! I don't think Lexus would mind if you put on an OEM front lip on your leased IS. If it were an aftermarket lip, you'd probably have to take it off when you returned your car at the end of your lease.
Old 07-11-08, 09:17 AM
Navigatn
Pole Position