IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

How did my car come out??? I need your input.

Search this Thread

Old 08-09-08, 12:07 PM
lexudv
Pole Position

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How did my car come out??? I need your input.

Ok paint gurus and people with good eyes I need your help!!! So I had my car re-sprayed for some rock damage that it had. I had it painted with a reputable body shop here socal (I won't mention their name yet). Here's what was painted:

Front Bumper
Rear Bumper
Hood
Left & Right Fender
Both Mirrors
Left (Driver's side) rear door

I think the new paint is good. It looks bright, but I do have some concerns about it blending with the old paint. I don't believe the shop did any blending. Again just my thought, I'm no paint expert. The thing I notice the most is when the sun is low, such as in the early morning and late afternoon, the old paint actually looks like a darker black than the new one. The new paint seems to have a yellow glow to it. Again this is only when the light hits the car from a side angle. Let me know what you guys think....

Here's a picture of the whole car:

The front with my new gfx lip

Here's where I need your opinion. Front door has original paint, Rear door was painted.

This one is a good close up of what I'm talking about.

Old 08-09-08, 12:11 PM
Faman21
Rookie

thats a big difference in the close up pictures, but the final product is up to you, depends if you can catch the difference from a couple feet away in direct sunlight.
Old 08-09-08, 12:33 PM
2slow
Lexus Champion

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Because Lexus uses different types of paint with different stages, it's really hard to match. Should of painted the entire car.
Old 08-09-08, 12:39 PM
w1ck3d64
Lead Lap

Originally Posted by Faman21
thats a big difference in the close up pictures, but the final product is up to you, depends if you can catch the difference from a couple feet away in direct sunlight.