IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

PCV valve location for Catch Can

Search this Thread

Old 12-10-08, 09:26 PM
yutnaka
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default PCV valve location for Catch Can

does anyone have a picture of where the PCV valve is located? I am wanting to install a DIY catch can for my car. Any pics or diagrams will be appreciated. This is my first time owning a Lexus and I really want the best for my car. My previous car was an Infiniti I30 and it really benefitted from the catch can I installed.

yutnaka
Lexus IS250
Old 12-10-08, 09:40 PM
wolverine
Lexus Champion

uh really?
Old 12-10-08, 09:46 PM
yutnaka
Driver School Candidate

yeah..there is not a whole lot of information about this engine online, but there are lots of info on the VQ engines. That is why I am asking for help.
Old 12-16-08, 02:10 PM
yutnaka
Driver School Candidate

Well, I found the location and installed a DIY catch can. If those of you are familiar, its the catch can made from Home Depot Inline air filter. After 20 miles of driving, I have a good teaspoon of oil accumilated in there. Looks like I'll be emptying it out at every oil change.
Old 12-16-08, 02:57 PM
kickin8
2IS/2RX/4RX

Received 27 Likes on 22 Posts

show some pics, please?
Old 12-16-08, 03:02 PM
Mr. IS350
Driver

Let's see some pics of this setup? and of the oil that it's catching.
Old 12-16-08, 05:40 PM
lobuxracer
Tech Info Resource

Received 3,964 Likes on 2,401 Posts

What is the perceived benefit here?

How long did it take to accumulate 15cc of oil? Are you familiar with vacuum system oil migration control, and how putting a device like a catch can inline will promote oil migration? Are you familiar with the baffling in the cam covers and how it acts like your catch can without the undue cooling effect your can has? Do you believe if a simple catch can would solve a significant problem that the OEMs would not use them?
Old 12-16-08, 06:16 PM
yutnaka