IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

Possibly Free Stuff from Lexus!!!!!!!!!

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-09, 09:01 AM
aznpapaya
Lead Lap

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Possibly Free Stuff from Lexus!!!!!!!!!

hey everyone i received this email from youtube, was wondering if anyone know anything about it, done it. thanks

PS: would someone like to give it a try if it true?

Hey bud,

Nice IS-350!
I used to work as a service consultant at an Orlando Lexus dealership.
the IS and GS models have a Technical Service Bulletin for noise coming from the VVT-i cam gears. However all the dealerships were instructed not to address the issue unless customers complained of a ticking noise. Now it could have been your video, but It definately sounds like your car has that same issue. In no real way is it a safety or performance factor for the car, but here's a tip. Next time you take it in for service, make sure you mention that the valvetrain makes a LOT of noise. Every dealership has at least one technician dedicated to just doing rebuilds because of this problem, so they'll call him out to check the car. If they decide that your car has the valvetrain noise, rejoice because you're about to get a new Timing Chain, Gears, Camshafts, and lifters, at no charge to you.
I don't know if you've already done this or there's some other issue with the car, but just thought i'd share my $.02.
Take it easy,
Hula
Old 01-30-09, 09:04 AM
Anthony
Lexus Champion

your not in orlando right? I mean if you were theres no hurt in seeing if they will do it for free..Not saying they will because why would Lexus do $500+ job for free.

my .02
Old 01-30-09, 09:09 AM
felixcat
Pit Crew

Received 37 Likes on 27 Posts

With the sinking economic, now it becomes harder and harder to let dealers do free stuffs.
Old 01-30-09, 09:36 AM
Kurtz
Lexus Fanatic

Received 14 Likes on 11 Posts

Uh, they're not doing it "free"