IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

Please chime in with your positive wheel repair experiences...

Search this Thread

Old 05-11-09, 08:55 PM
Zeus69
Pole Position

Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Please chime in with your positive wheel repair experiences...

I've had a pretty frustrating experience getting one of my chrome wheels repaired after hitting a stealth pot-hole on the highway. A local shop contacted two "repair" outfits but was rebuffed by each when told of the wheel type and finish (SSR Professor VF1 3-piece Super Black Chrome).

I ended up having the wheel sent to Wheels America in Arlington Heights, IL. They apparently repaired the bend, but then had to ship the wheel to California for re-finishing (?!?). It's ending up costing waayyyyyy more than I had hoped going in and with the crappy roads around here I could go broke quickly if this happens one too many times...

I have limited experience in the aftermarket wheel repair arena, as this is the first serious rim damage I've incurred over many sets of wheels. Are higher end wheel repairs typically a multi-step process that involve cooperation between different shops (in different parts of the country)??

It would be ideal to accumulate a list of names/contact info of some top-notch aftermarket wheel repair shops around the country based on other user's experiences. In the future, I might deal directly with them and perhaps realize some cost savings by using a "one stop shop".

So, if a particular wheel repair outfit local to your area impressed you with the work they did on one/several of your damaged wheels, please post up a name/link/contact info...

Thanks in advance
Old 05-11-09, 09:18 PM
VF84
Pole Position

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

first thing is try to get a reimbursement for replacement from your state's department of transportation if the pot hole accident occurred on an interstate/freeway, or city/locality if on local roads.