IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

Opinions please, IS250 AWD, G37X, or TL-AWD?

Search this Thread

Old 05-22-09, 10:07 PM
docboy
Pit Crew

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Opinions please, IS250 AWD, G37X, or TL-AWD?

Hey Everyone,

First time Lexus newbie here. I would really appreciate some opinions. Current driver is an auto 2005 Acura TSX. Very reliable car, but I'm looking for an AWD sedan that does well in the snowy hills and backroads.

So my current choices are the IS250 AWD, G37X, or TL-AWD. Which ones would you guys pick?

I give the highest priority to reliability, safety, AWD snow performance, and lastly overall performance. My original wishes were to get a manual AWD sedan, but am finding it difficult to find (the 328xi or 335xi was a possibility, but I crossed them out due to reliability issues and $$).

The IS350 would have been great, but no AWD.

Would you guys/gals say the IS has the best reliability of the 4 mentioned? Some people here on this forum have mentioned some problems with their G?

Decisions, decisions, decisions....
Old 05-22-09, 10:11 PM
Fizzboy7
Lexus Test Driver

Received 170 Likes on 101 Posts

The new TL looks like a rear-ended robotic anteater. Please help beautiful American roads and leave it languishing on a dealer lot.
Old 05-22-09, 11:08 PM
SGMIS3
Pole Position

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

^in person it actually looks pretty nice...........
Old 05-22-09, 11:29 PM
joshuajj
Driver

Go with the one that looks and drives best. I personally would go with the G37...IS250 AWD is pretty slow and the TL looks pretty fugly to me...but again it boils down to personal preference.
Old 05-22-09, 11:56 PM
mvlbr
Lead Lap

My order:

1: G37X
2: IS250 AWD
And not even on my list: TL (god the new TL is hideous)
Old 05-23-09, 12:57 AM
stooky
Pole Position

G37, IS250 is a bit underpowered imo c(:
Old 05-23-09, 01:00 AM
i2IS
Pole Position

test drive all of them + "feel" n compare the interior.