IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

Talk to me about car Audio

Search this Thread

Old 10-30-10, 02:23 AM
ndk83
Pole Position

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Talk to me about car Audio

So, I want to upgrade my sub and amp, and after doin a bit of ressearch i want to get the JL audio 500/1 and a W6V2. Unfortunatly, the supplier here is out of stock and needs 3 months for the next order to arrive, so im thinking of ordering them directl from JL

Now heres my question: i was looking at some Rockford Fosgate subs and amp but the people here are not willing to install it, they are saying that the power output of our Mark Levinson system is different than that of Rockford fosgate, JBL, Alpine etc, and the difference in power output makes it impossible to install because the bass wont work or something. Im a music noob, this would be my first amp and sub install

Is that true? What did u guys do to over come that? I know wim gonna need a line converter, does that sort everything out?

What do u gusy recommend as a sound system? I love the ML system but its seriously lacking in the lows, want to add some kick to the system, but at the same time i dont want to loose how crisp the system sounds as it is.

Is JL audio much better than rockford fosgate, Infinity and JBL?

I really wanna do this, but the shops here are making it difficult, plus they all suck here.
Old 10-30-10, 02:27 AM
ApokC
Lexus Test Driver

I would go with JL Audio!

I just had my Kenwood Excelon AMP along with 2 12" BMF subs installed. They just spliced right into the ML AMP. Should not be a problem, and if they say there is a problem, find a new sound guy.
Old 10-30-10, 03:18 AM
ndk83
Pole Position

Originally Posted by ApokC
I would go with JL Audio!

I just had my Kenwood Excelon AMP along with 2 12" BMF subs installed. They just spliced right into the ML AMP. Should not be a problem, and if they say there is a problem, find a new sound guy.
Thanks ApokC,