IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

winter car owners plz chime in

Search this Thread

Old 03-01-13, 01:27 PM
eddiekay
Rookie

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default winter car owners plz chime in

This is my first time owning a car through the winter seasons. I've babied my car trying not to get any scratches or dents as much as possible... but after the few weeks of brutal snow fall i noticed tons of mini scratches and swirl like marks.

I'm guessing it's from the snow fall and debris in the snow and also me doing the occasional scraping with the winter brush. It really sucks to see it scratched.

Does everyone that experience snow in the winter have this on their cars? Are there good tips to keep it from damaging the surface?

thanks for any inputs
Old 03-01-13, 01:36 PM
minato
Pole Position

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I wash/wax, rewax usual prep for winter,
the wax really helps though ..or maybe its in my head
also have the electronic rust prevention kit

this winter had lottsa snow though,

thats all I do..
Old 03-01-13, 01:48 PM
misterhu
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Proper washing methods are important. 2 bucket method with a good car shampoo. Adding Optimum No-Rinse to your car shampoo keeps swirl inducing particles encapsulated. Having a fresh layer of wax before any snow helps. Also take great care in removing the snow. You can't just scrape it off. Warm/hot running water hose also helps but not everybody has that. I usually get it properly detailed yearly during spring time.
Old 03-01-13, 02:09 PM
sm1ke
Racer

Received 21 Likes on 21 Posts