IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

winter tires

Search this Thread

Old 10-25-13, 05:41 PM
neonwombat
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default winter tires

Hello I am relatively new to lexus and new to cars in general I would appreciate some help selecting winter tires.

I have a 2013 lexus is 250 awd and I am located in Canada.
Do I need different front and back tires?

I was looking the costco website and I found this:

Michelin - X-IceŽ Xi3
Item #: 361021

Tire Size: 225/45R17/XL 94H
Tire Type: Winter
Sidewall: Black Sidewall

Does anyone know if these tires will be sufficient? Better yet, if you are in ontario canada and bought your wheels from costco which one did you use and why?

http://tires2.costco.ca/SearchResult...b-5c062f6a4072

thanks,
Old 10-25-13, 06:28 PM
LexStylez
Pole Position

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Welcome to CL. You need 225/45R17 on all four tires. The Michelin X-Ice are good. I have Bridgestone Blizzak WS70 and I haven't had any problems driving on snow/ice. Can't go wrong with either of those two tires.
Old 10-25-13, 07:58 PM
neonwombat
Driver School Candidate

Alright thank you, this is good to know since I was wondering if I needed different wheels for front and back.
Old 10-26-13, 02:07 PM
embolism
Lead Lap

i run ws70's from costco too. The stock sizes from the car manufacturers are in their computer so they would have told you 225/45/17.

I actually had a problem with them b/c the computer said my tires were staggered (i have RWD) and I wanted to run all four the same for winter so I could rotate. In the end, they sold them to me but I had to take them to get installed somewhere else.
Old 10-26-13, 08:46 PM
SyndicateX
Driver School Candidate