IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

Startup Rattle Sound.

Search this Thread

Old 10-12-16 | 12:01 PM
erichuang
Driver School Candidate

Unhappy Startup Rattle Sound.

Hi everyone!

I'm new to the Lexus family, but I'm really happy that I did the switch from Nissan to Lexus.
I have recently bought a 2008 IS250 RWD with 106k from someone else and I recently noticing a fairly often occurrence of the startup rattle that lasts only for a second or a split of a second. The car was due for an oil change then so I took it for an oil change and 105k service to a Lexus dealership. I mentioned about this startup rattle sound, the service advisor said they didn't hear anything strange when they did the inspection, and he told me it was a fairly common issue with the IS series. He told me there are cases when this was "fixed" but the rattle still comes back later. He also said that it would not hurt much since my car is still running fine.( it's really smooth, especially when I was test driving it hence I made the purchase, and it's still running smoothly, but there is that ****ty rattle sound)

The engine oil used at the dealer was claimed to be Mobil 1 full synthetic, and the rattle sound comes on when I park the car and not use it for a shorter period of time (no longer than 3 hours or so). But this rattle doesn't occur during morning cold starts or after sitting the car for a long period of time... I am just very annoyed with this sound, and I know there's been a lot of discussion about this already, but I just want to know for those who tried switching to Castrol Edge, does it really get rid of the rattle sound??? I'm very intriged to try it for my next change.

Thanks guys!

Best,
Eric
Old 10-12-16 | 12:25 PM
jjc250
Driver