IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

I think I bought a lemon...

Search this Thread

Old 01-28-17 | 05:19 PM
Hussy
Driver School Candidate

Default I think I bought a lemon...

First off, I'm a noob, so if this is the wrong place for this, please point me in the right direction. Thank you in advance.

Purchased a 2009 Lexus IS250 from a used dealership in 2013 and it looked like it was in immaculate condition. Simply beautiful. I'm now experiencing buyer's remorse. I started having overheating problems with it 2 months ago. Did a diagnostic check, which said bad thermostat. Changed the thermostat. Still overheated. Changed the waterpump today and found something very disheartening. I've pulled a CarFax history on it and there's a long list of overheating issues spanning almost the entire life of the car. Does it look like someone tried to JB weld this block?

Check out this picture. Behind the waterpump.

​​​
Old 01-28-17 | 05:56 PM
Mrfix
Lead Lap

Looks that way doesn't it. I'm curious if you couldn't weld that?

But this is what you have to figure out. Do a head gasket test to see if your leaking coolant. Check your oil to see if there is a white film on the inside of the cap. Look on youtube for instructions. Both Scotty Killmer and Chris Fix have vids on how to do this.

You need to figure out why it's over heating? Is it a fan not coming on, is it a bad Radiator? Is it a bad thermostat? Is it an air pocket?

Once you figure that out you can determine whether to sell the car or not.
Old 01-28-17 | 06:22 PM
sktn77a
Lead Lap

Trade it in to a dealer! Let him worry about it.
Old 01-28-17 | 06:36 PM
Hussy
Driver School Candidate

Originally Posted by Mrfix
Looks that way doesn't it. I'm curious if you couldn't weld that?