IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

Help! Shifter is stuck at park

Search this Thread

Old 12-05-17, 07:22 AM
2istype
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help! Shifter is stuck at park

So I bought this car back in August 2017. Now it's my first time ever experiencing the car when the weather is getting cold. This morning my daughter was late for school. I started the car and I tried shifting to reverse and it wouldn't go. I kept pressing on the brake pedal to move the shifter and just wouldn't budge. It was so cold that even my shifter cover is cracked from me trying to give it a little pressure by simply poking it to see if there'. Anything lodged up in there so great i need a new shifter sliding cover. After 3 Minutes of the car being warmed up I was able to engage the shifter from park to reverse and was able to finally take my daughter to school. Doesn' sound normal to me.

Last edited by 2istype; 12-05-17 at 07:28 AM.
Old 12-05-17, 08:11 AM
Bichon
Super Moderator

Received 267 Likes on 237 Posts

It's not normal. If the problem recurs, there is a plastic cap in the upper left corner of the shifter panel than you can pop out, and then press the button below it to release the shift interlock.

I see you are in AZ. What's cold weather there, under 60 degrees?
Old 12-05-17, 10:11 AM
knyg
Pole Position

Received 15 Likes on 15 Posts

This definitely is not normal.

At at first I thought there was some safety feature with Lexus where it would need to run and warm up the engine before going since it is so cold.

but it I can shift my car out of neutral and it is ~45F when I go to work. And there are many members out in the cold like Michigan where it is snowing and freezing and it starts and goes without a problem.

Definitey look into this problem and see if you can reproduce it. Sometimes you’re just decompressing the brakes incorrectly/the sensor isn’t as good anymore.
Old 12-05-17, 01:56 PM
Gville350