IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

Oil Looks Uneven On Dipstick

Search this Thread

Old 03-12-18, 11:25 AM
AndaleFish
Rookie

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Oil Looks Uneven On Dipstick

Hello, I just recently purchased a 2006 lexus Is350. It should have a fresh oil change from the dealer but when I checked the oil this morning it looks uneven on the dipstick.
Ive never seen a dipstick that looked like this. It has oil on and ABOVE the full dot but in between the two dots there are spots/streaks with no oil. I'm totally new to this car and would like to know if this Is this normal.
thanks!
Old 03-12-18, 11:42 AM
Zmon
Racer

Received 219 Likes on 183 Posts

If you can't get a good reading on the front, look at the back. I find the front usually gets like that while the back has an even line.
The following users liked this post:
AndaleFish (03-12-18)
Old 03-12-18, 11:49 AM
MikeFig82
Lead Lap

Received 773 Likes on 675 Posts

Try to pull the dipstick slowly out. It tends to hit the walls, and smear. Like what's been stated try viewing on the back side too. You'll have to give it a few tries before you get a good reading.
AndaleFish (03-12-18)
Old 03-12-18, 12:12 PM
AndaleFish
Rookie

Ok will do. Thanks for your replies. Also how much oil are you guys putting in when you change the oil? My car didn't come with the owners manual but from searching the forum it seems that people are saying somewhere in between 6-7 Quarts? Is there an exact amount that most can agree on lol?
Old 03-12-18, 12:29 PM
MikeFig82
Lead Lap

Received 773 Likes on 675 Posts

Originally Posted by AndaleFish
Ok will do. Thanks for your replies. Also how much oil are you guys putting in when you change the oil? My car didn't come with the owners manual but from searching the forum it seems that people are saying somewhere in between 6-7 Quarts? Is there an exact amount that most can agree on lol?
RWD is 6.6 QTS with filter change.