IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

check engine vsc light - can someone please help me.

Search this Thread

Old 09-26-18, 04:03 PM
Jbakyy
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default check engine vsc light - can someone please help me.

Can someone please try to help me figure out why my check engine light comes on. The car has been in shop 5 times the past year and they still can't figure it out. It's a 2007 Lexus IS 250 and so far I have had top end engine carbon cleaning twice, new plugs, new oxygen sensors. The strange thing is that whenever codes get reset the car runs great then vsc / check engine light comes on and car is non driveable. Latest codes are 0303 and 2237. Can somone please try to help me, check engine is starting to drive me crazy. Thank yo
Old 09-26-18, 04:39 PM
mmarshall
Lexus Fanatic

Received 88 Likes on 87 Posts

I'm not an expert at diagnosing codes, but, in general, 0303 is for a misfire or timing error in the cylinders. 2237 is for the oxygen sensor. The first thing to check whenever the engine light comes on is a loose or worn-out gas cap. It has to form a tight seal, or else it, too, will trigger the light. That's to keep gas fumes in the tank and filler-pipe from leaking out into the air.

If they have replaced those parts (or gone through the proper diagnostic procedure for those codes, which requires a Shop Manual step-procedure, not just a knee-jerk reaction replacing parts) and the light still keeps coming on, you may (?) need a new engine-computer.
The following users liked this post:
Jbakyy (09-30-18)
Old 09-26-18, 08:13 PM
Mrfix
Lead Lap

Received 65 Likes on 56 Posts

Originally Posted by Jbakyy