IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

Rear clunking noise under acceleration

Search this Thread

Old 09-24-19 | 04:59 PM
dmoua68
Driver School Candidate

Default Rear clunking noise under acceleration

Yesterday I jacked up my 2006 AWD IS250 to install side splitters. The next morning on my way to work I heard a clunking noise from the passenger rear. Almost like a loose strut tower. I've been running Godspeed springs for about 4 months and that corner has been a little louder than others but this time it was much louder.

The noise would be constant under acceleration but go away when coasting and could only be heard over bumps. I checked the splitters to make sure they were not flapping while driving, there was no play in both splitters. I jacked up the car and pulled off the passenger rear wheel to check for any bad bushings or ball joints, they all checked out. Tore apart the trunk to check the bolts on top of the strut tower, they were all tight. Even checked all the bolts on all suspensions components, all tight.

Next, I put the wheel back on and put the car in Neutral turned the wheel by hand to check for any noise from the drive shaft, no noise. CV boots are not leaking or torn.

Held the wheel while on the car at 9 oclock and 3 oclock position to test for play, none. Tried the same at 12 oclock and 6 oclock, no play. I am running adapters and checked the nuts for those, they were tight.

Eventually I put the wheel back on and had my brother drive while I sat in the rear passenger seat. I could feel the clunking directly underneath my feet. My feet were not near any suspension components. Same symptoms, clunking under acceleration but silent when coasting.
We drove around for a bit then eventually it went away (after the engine warmed up). Under modest acceleration you could not hear the clunking but under WOT you could hear the clunking for a slight moment.