IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

Car won’t start after replacing alternator.

Search this Thread

Old 03-23-20 | 06:33 PM
Mjmelech
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Car won’t start after replacing alternator.

This is my first time ever posting on a forum but I’ve been doing a lot of research and I found others with this and the solutions didn’t seem to help me.

one day my girlfriend was driving her 2007 Lexus IS250 and the battery light came on. So I drove it to the local auto zone and got it tested and they said that my alt wasn’t holding charge. I bought the new alt and went home and replaced it. Only thing I can remember I might’ve did wrong was plug the battery up to pop the trunk while the alt was out. I ended up putting the alt in minus that hard bracket on the back on, but the car didn’t start. All lights come on like regular but no crank and when you press the button they cut off then come back on. After checking connections and fuses I read it could be the fusible link so I replaced that. Car still doesn’t start and still does the same thing. Now the battery has gone dead so I bring it to auto zone who say it’s a good battery charge it. And I try everything again but the same result. Next morning batteries dead again. So Now I brought it to o’Reily’s and the tell me it’s bad. I go buy a new battery from Walmart put it in and the same thing happened. I don’t know what to do at this point anything will help
Old 03-24-20 | 08:23 AM
Gville350

Received 436 Likes on 387 Posts

So you're saying that each time you install a known GOOD battery that it is becoming drained overnight?

So when you replaced the fusible link, did you find out whether or not the previous one had blew?
Old 03-24-20 | 08:50 AM
sunamer
Advanced

Received 183 Likes on 130 Posts

Originally Posted by Mjmelech
alt wasn’t holding charge.