IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

Installed: K&N Cabin Filter

Search this Thread

Old 08-22-20 | 02:08 PM
AMIRZA786
Lexus Champion

Default Installed: K&N Cabin Filter

I've been using K&N air filters for the past 20 years on all my cars, and have had great success with them. I currently have one installed on my 2006 Toyota Camry SE which now has almost 155K on it (installed around 30K, washed and re-oiled at around 120K, will be rewashing and re-oiling), on my 2013 Toyota Sienna with nearly 140K (installed around 20K or 30K, washed and re-oiled at 100K), and I have one installed on my 2010 IS350 I installed around 52K (now almost 64K). On my last oil change (almost 5K miles ago) I changed the cabin filter, and here in California we have been experiencing a heatwave, so I have been using the AC a lot, including night driving. I noticed that every time I turn on the AC, firstly it been taking a bit longer to cool down the air, and also I've been getting that awful stale air smell. Since I use K&N engine air filters for my cars, I decided to try out their "Lifetime" Cabin air filter (K&N part number VF2000). It was $41 on Amazon, and since I have a ton of Amazon points built up I just used them to buy it.

The results after a few days has been excellent. The AC gets cooler faster, I've been using one or two fan speeds down than I normally use, and the smell is completely gone. Even when the cabin filter was fairly new I was getting that stale smell that takes at least 5 minutes to go away. The only issue is that it does not have an airflow arrow printed on it like the OE cabin filter, nor does it show one in the installation instructions. The instructions say "It only fits one way". Both sides look the same and seem to be pleated exactly the same, so I am assuming this filter can be installed either way as long as it fits correctly in the tray housing.