IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

Lost at the moment

Search this Thread

Old 01-27-21, 10:57 PM
Nelsious
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lost at the moment

Hello fellow enthusiasts, im new to clublexus. I own a 2008 is250 and im having a fuel related issue, aside from bringing my vehicle to a dealer ive exhausted all resources and efforts to solve this problem on my own. Which is what has brought me here to you fine people. How shall i begin... Well it all started a few days ago a frigid yet splendidly sunny afternoon. I had just returned from autozone after buying a new air filter which i installed in autozone's parking lot. I arrive at my apartment and proceed to back in park my exceptionally gorgeous 2008 is250 awd with 110k miles, when i feel the car begin to shutter and the rpm's drop to the point where the car stalls out. I pop the car in neutral kick it back with my foot into the parking spot. I plug into the obd and get a p0087 and p0230, alrighty then, I pop the hood get to the fuse box and find that the fuel pump fuse is blown. No biggie, head to the basement grab a 25amp fuse, replace it and restart the vehicle. She started up with no hiccup, idled smoothly at 1000. I decide to let it run for a bit while i applied tire shine to my wheels and after about 5mins she shutters to a stall once again. I pop the hood and discover that the fuel pump fuse has blown again. Okay no biggie take my girlfriends car to autozone and purchase a fuel pump relay 58$. Replace the old relay and fuse then start the ole girl back up. Vroom took one or two presses of the push start but shes was back up and running once more still smooth at 1k rpm. Naturally i let it idle for abit as i have a smoke and before im half way done with my cig boom shutters and dies. Okay now my only thought is its gotta be the mfing fuel pump. Im far from a rich guy which why i purchased a lexus to begin with and not a Mercedes so im bac