IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

Mysterious ticking noise from the engine bay

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-21, 07:40 PM
adngo18
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Mysterious ticking noise from the engine bay

hi there guys, i'm relatively new to the sub and it's my first time posting for some help regarding my car.

I currently drive a 2012 lexus is250 that's coming up on 149k miles. everything's been great so far, but as of late, there's a noise coming from the engine bay that happens on a cold start after I haven't driven the car in a few days. the noise, which sounds like a metallic ticking/rattle, goes away after the engine is warmed up (approx 10-15 minutes) and if I recall correctly it doesn't seem to get louder or quieter whenever I drive it. I know that these motors are notorious for the loud noise of the injectors as the motor is running but i'm certain it's not that. it also does not seem to affect driveability and from what I can tell the car functions even when the noise is still present and after it goes away.

based on searches from the forums, others have mentioned that it could be one of the vvti cam gears causing the noise.

I have also spoken to a local mechanic who believes that because the car wasn't driven in a few days, it goes into a state of low oil pressure, which causes the lifters inside the motor to create the noise. the mechanic mentioned that I should switch to a heavier oil, such as 5w30, which should make the noise go away.

a link to the noise is found here:

please let me know what your thoughts are and I look forward to reading all of your responses. if there's any other additional info that I need to provide, please let me know and ill be glad to do so.

thanks a lot!
Old 07-28-21, 09:47 PM
Evil1nside
Driver School Candidate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

If you have no check engine light for anything specific, it may as well just be a warn out pulley or the belt.