IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

Repair thread: front end damage

Search this Thread

Old 12-22-21, 07:59 PM
Dozendirt
Driver School Candidate

Received 10 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Repair thread: front end damage

Hey everyone, just joined the forum after being a long time lurker. I thought I would do a thread on the process I make on fixing my cars front end damage. I am by no means a mechanic so I will be documenting the process from the view point of a novice.

Yesterday I got the car home and took this picture while pulling it apart. The damage that concerns me is the bit of wheel well/fender damage on the passenger side. I’m fairly confident wrenching on my own vehicles but I have limited body work experience.

First thing is I want to make sure everything is mechanically sound. So I ordered a new radiator support, and radiator. Having the new radiator support as an alignment jig should help with pulling out the fender. Until I get the parts I will be checking the lights on my dash with the obd cable-laptop.

Yesterday when started the car there was only a vsc light, but the would start and drive. Today I saw two new lights, CEL and tire pressure light. However now it won’t leave park unless I unlock the shifter with the button. I will be testing the brake switch which I’ve read can be the issue.

Until my next update, thanks in advance for any advice I may receive during this process and thanks for reading.

current codes:

Last edited by Dozendirt; 12-24-21 at 02:36 PM.
Old 12-23-21, 02:30 PM
timmy0tool

Received 425 Likes on 379 Posts

welcome and grab the CEL code using your reader which will point you in the right direction on the problems.

how is the crash beam? air bags sensors? bumper cover?
Old 12-24-21, 02:30 PM
Dozendirt
Driver School Candidate

*Update*

Problems Fixed:
*VCS light on dash
*Ac/heater controls now power up and operate properly l, they had no power before.