IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

!!HELP!! Clicking/Popping noise when accelerating and turning.

Search this Thread

Old 08-23-22, 12:52 PM
jdunavan
3rd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default !!HELP!! Clicking/Popping noise when accelerating and turning.

Hey all, I am not a mechanic nor have any experience working on cars at all I always take my cars into shops. Recently I decided to get a ‘08 AWD 250 with 165k miles and about a week after driving it I noticed a clicking/popping noise not just when turning but also as I’m just regularly accelerating. So I took it into my mechanic who I’ve had do tons of work on previous cars of mine, he replaced both sides of the front axle, I made sure after getting it to drive w the windows down to make sure the noise was gone, and it was for about 5 days. Then it came back. I don’t feel any grease on the tires so there’s no way I damaged my axle again. Does anyone know of any common problems that would cause this noise? I called my mechanic and let him know he didn’t really have an answer but he did say he checked my bearings and they were all good so I have no idea why this noise keeps popping up. I’m honestly terrified to drive it and I stopped once I heard the noise come back. I’m waiting to take it in but in the meantime figured I’d post on here to get some feedback. Thanks in advance.
Old 08-23-22, 02:14 PM
2013FSport
Lexus Test Driver

Received 1,530 Likes on 1,273 Posts

Can you be more specific about the popping sound when accelerating? New outer CVJ's rare do that.
maybe make an audio track if possible? Did they bill or charge for topping off or replacing front diff fluid?

I think you should have the shop replace the front and rear differential fluid just to see what it looks like, and verify levels.
Old 08-23-22, 05:02 PM
jdunavan
3rd Gear

Originally Posted by 2013FSport
Can you be more specific about the popping sound when accelerating? New outer CVJ's rare do that.