IS - 3rd Gen (2014-present) Discussion about the 2014+ model IS models

2015 IS250 steering pulls left/right

Search this Thread

Old 01-13-19, 09:49 PM
WTFlexus
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy 2015 IS250 steering pulls left/right

Hey all! I'm new to ClubLexus and really hope y'all can help with my issue.
I purchased 2015 IS250 Sport Crafted Line a couple months ago and it has an issue pulling left and right over different terrain. It still has factory warrant but Lexus cannot locate a problem. They ran a diagnostic, aligned the wheels and it is still unsafe to drive. I took a road trip to Houston driving 70-75mph and I had to have both hands on the wheel at all times because it was veering left/right. Car Fax was clean.
Feedback/comments/suggestions to get this mystery solved.
Thank you!
Randy

Last edited by WTFlexus; 01-13-19 at 11:18 PM.
Old 01-14-19, 06:41 AM
Sasnuke
Lexus Test Driver

Received 1,737 Likes on 1,370 Posts

Welcome to the forum and congrats on your 'new to you' IS!

It's unfortunate your first post has to with an issue, but hopefully a solution can be found.

I think the first thing to establish is that it's not technically possible for the vehicle to pull in two different directions.
If there was a suspension or alignment issue that was causing the vehicle to pull in one direction let's say left, then it will always pull left, and it would be impossible for it to pull right.
Once the alignment or suspension issue was corrected, then it should drive straight afterwards.

This doesn't mean that you're not experiencing what you're experiencing, more so that it's very likely not an alignment issue.

First, and most obvious, place to start looking is the tires. Often belt shifts on tires can cause to wonder across the road. Since you can't rotate F Sport wheels, then inspecting the tires is the first step.

Maybe you can look at the tires and post some info:
1. Make and model of the tire