IS - 3rd Gen (2014-present) Discussion about the 2014+ model IS models

Tire opinions

Search this Thread

Old 07-01-20, 11:10 AM
Heagy80
Driver School Candidate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Tire opinions

Hi. Shopping for new rear tires after my 15 is350 burned up the inners. Looking at the below options. Any thoughts? More concerned with wear than performance. Looking at getting a camber kit to protect these. Thanks

bf Goodrich g force sport comp 2

michelin pilot sport a/a 3+

Bridgestone potenza re980AS
Old 07-01-20, 01:10 PM
Tungstn-IS
Intermediate

Received 55 Likes on 47 Posts

Of those three, the BFG Gforce Sport Comp 2 is the outlier. The Michelins and Bridgestones are all season tires with 500 treadwear rating. I have no experience with either one, but that generally indicates harder/long lasting compounds and better wet weather traction at the expense of dry performance. They are likely a bit softer in the sidewalls making for a more comfortable ride compared to the BFG Comp 2. The BFG Gforce Sport Comp 2 is an ultra high performance summer tire with softer compounds, stiffer side walls and larger, uninterrupted tread blocks for maximum dry weather performance. I used to run these BFG on my 2IS and the rears would be slick as glass after about 25k miles. They performed well, but as stated, you aren't terribly concerned about performance. BFG also makes the Gforce Comp 2 in an all season (see Comp 2 A/S), but I have no experience with these either since I have always had ultra high performance summer tires on all of my IS'. (Mich Pilot Sport, BFG Comp 2, Firestone Indy 500, etc)
The following users liked this post:
Heagy80 (07-01-20)
Old 07-02-20, 09:12 PM
Hifiman1
Intermediate

Received 29 Likes on 16 Posts

Your telling me Lexus never added camber adjustment to this car is 6 years?
Old 07-02-20, 10:31 PM
Flash5
Pole Position

Received 459 Likes on 367 Posts

Originally Posted by Hifiman1
Are you surprised? Lol
The following users liked this post: