Ticking/rattling behind dash in new IS

Search this Thread

Old 07-27-21, 03:51 PM
TGPCanada
Advanced

Received 841 Likes on 350 Posts
Default Ticking/rattling behind dash in new IS

Hello All,
I've been driving a 2021 IS350 AWD for over 3 months now and there is a consistent ticking / rattling type sound coming from somewhere behind the instrument gauge/dash on driver's side. It is so subtle - you have to have all windows rolled up, no music on, no one talking in the car, and drive around 30-50 km/hr to hear it . So hard to pin point where exactly it is coming from . Could even be the speaker on the top left corner of dash. Who knows. Not really annoying at this point, but sort of gets to you given the car is new . Lexus says just to wait it out and see if it gets any worse over time . "Do you really want us to pull the dash apart to find the rattle?". No way , as this could just open up a whole host of other problems.

Anyways, just wondering if anyone else is hearing similar thing, and/or if there is really anything one can do about it .

Thanks
Old 07-27-21, 04:52 PM
AFirWraith
3rd Gear

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

I have a 2020 IS350 RWD and have the same exact issue as you described. Funny thing is my 2016 4Runner did the same thing, it ended up being a lose plastic fastener on the engine bulkhead firewall. I found it by using a leaf blower outside of the vehicle while siting inside listening for the sound, I haven’t done this yet with the IS since I usually have music on. I’ll give it a try later this week and see if I can figure it out.
Old 07-27-21, 09:48 PM
JCMno
Rookie

Received 23 Likes on 14 Posts

Originally Posted by TGPCanada
Hello All,