Search this Thread

Old 07-15-22, 01:03 PM
Bevie
2nd gear

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default Is350c seating question

Hi all!
Newbie here!
I have been in search of a used hardtop convertible for at least 6 months or more😳. To say I’m extremely picky is funny 😁. I’ve finally narrowed my search down to Lexus and Mercedes. Lexus was winning because of the 4 seats. If I choose Benz, I can’t take my 2 young grands with me 😢. However, I JUST learned if the top is down, I am not able to open the trunk without putting the top back up?!?!
Could someone please verify if this is true?!
I’ve owned several Lexus’ in the past, but hubby would never allow convertible. He passed away last year, so now I’m taking the plunge! I’ve wanted a hardtop convertible my entire life.
Thanks so much!
Old 07-15-22, 05:22 PM
AmyUD06
Pit Crew

Received 79 Likes on 64 Posts

Completely false (unless something is broken).

In fact, you will find that the IS-C has the largest top-down trunk space I've ever seen on a hardtop convertible, and is why I bought mine. It's not a lot of space, but it's more than you'll get in a BWM, Volvo, or Benz SLK. CLKs are a little bigger (and have four seats, albeit much smaller rear seats than the IS-C).
The following 2 users liked this post by AmyUD06:
Bevie (07-27-22), twleblanc (07-18-22)
Old 07-15-22, 09:25 PM
YoshiMan
Racer

Received 101 Likes on 92 Posts

I believe that you will get everything you need in an IS350c.

There is probably a good foot of so of space available behind the folded roof when you open the trunk. I have done some lighter grocery shopping trips with my wife and still been able to keep the top down on the way home.

I can't speak for other convertible hard tops, but I know that 95% of the SC430s did not have spare tires, and likely alot of other hardtop convertibles don't either, but ALL of the IS convertibles will have one. Thank the Lexus engineers and their ability to get a spare into the packaging constraints!