Brake Pad Change...Unhappy :X

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-09, 08:29 PM
ExclusivIS
Lexus Champion

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Brake Pad Change...Unhappy :X

Maybe some guys can help/guide me here.

Couple weeks ago, I purchased the Hawk Ceramic pads to replace my front OEM dusty pads. Apparently these are suppose to reduce dust (Which it DEF did by ALOT) AND eliminate squealing, HOWEVER they are still making noise. Why would they still be noisy? Was it something that went wrong with the installation of them, or maybe my rotors need to be resurfaced? I have NO IDEA, I'm a newB with brake pads. Hawk's remaking these pads...well so I've heard, could it be a fitment issue that is causing the noise?

Secondly....I now noticed since my new wheels are on that the rear pads aren't quite dust free either. I have been on those oem rear pads for about 15k miles now, what is the life expectancy of pads usually? Could they be over dusting because they need to be replaced? And is that something I can get done my next servicing? Thanks in advance fellas!
Old 09-20-09, 09:49 PM
teoh2005
Rookie

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Nothing will be quieter than OEM pads. Hawk or any other aftermarket pad is going to be more abrasive/make more noise than OEM. Only way to get them quiet is to do a few hard stops but the noise will come back.

-Kevin
Old 09-20-09, 10:41 PM
FIGS
The Maker

Received 144 Likes on 73 Posts

hmm, mine (OEM)stopped making noise a while ago, maybe I have just aggressively bed them. What kind of driving do you do exclusive? When things get hot they seem to bed better and elevated temps may be required on the ceramic compound. Hawks work alot on material transfer to the rotor, so perhaps some more high temp bed in will solve it.

I will be swapping to HPS to test them and give you feedback once I do.

Fig
Links - Arms - SuperPro Poly Bushings - Solid Bearing Conversions - Motor Mounts
RB BBK's and 2P Rotors, G-Loc pads, Radium Fuel Systems